As of October 28, 2026, three grocery chains have answered the same question in three different ways. Price Rite Marketplace, Winn-Dixie and BJ's Wholesale Club each announced Thanksgiving programmes, and none of them leads with a discount percentage. Price Rite publishes two shopping lists that build a meal for ten for $39 or less, under $3.90 per person, valid October 30 to November 26. Winn-Dixie sells two fixed-price meals, $38.90 for a cook-at-home dinner serving six and $39.99 for a heat-and-serve meal serving three to five. BJ's brings back a free turkey for members who spend $150 in one transaction between October 31 and November 9. For anyone monitoring price in a product listing or a store aisle, the interesting shift is that these are promises about a total, not about a unit price.
Three retailers, three definitions of a cheap Thanksgiving
The three designs are structurally different. Price Rite caps a per-person cost, which makes the offer legible without arithmetic. Winn-Dixie prices a fixed basket, which makes the total comparable across retailers but leaves per-person cost dependent on serving count. BJ's attaches the reward to a spending threshold, which converts a giveaway into a basket-building incentive. None of the three can be compared to another without restating it on a common basis, and that restatement is exactly what price monitoring is for.
The ranges also reveal who each chain expects to serve. A meal for ten at under $3.90 per person targets the largest household gathering. A meal for six at $38.90 targets a smaller table at roughly $6.48 per person. A heat-and-serve meal for three to five at $39.99 lands between $8 and $13.33 per person. Ranked on cost per person, the offers are not close, and a shopper comparing headline totals without dividing by servings will draw the wrong conclusion.
Per-person caps versus basket prices versus spend thresholds
A per-person cap is the most restrictive promise for the retailer, because it fixes the numerator and the denominator at once. If the listed items rise in cost during the six-week window, the retailer absorbs the difference or quietly substitutes. A basket price fixes only the numerator, so the retailer retains flexibility on serving size and pack weight. A spend threshold fixes neither, which is why it is the cheapest of the three to run: the giveaway is funded by margin on the qualifying basket rather than by a price cut on the turkey itself.
Price certainty is a different promise than low price
Price certainty answers a question that low price does not: what will this cost me in total. That distinction matters in a category where the basket has ten or more components and where unit prices move weekly. A shopper who cannot predict the total will delay the trip or split it across stores, which is expensive for the retailer. Publishing a total removes that friction, and it does so without requiring the deepest unit prices in the market. For a brand, this means the promotional calendar matters more than the discount depth.
There is a measurable consequence. If a retailer commits to a total, the components inside that total become less elastic individually, because the shopper is buying a bundle rather than a set of items. Brands that sit inside a committed bundle get volume protection during the window and lose pricing power at the same time. Brands outside the bundle face a harder comparison, because their unit price is being judged against a total that has already been fixed.
Promotion calendars decide who wins the trip
The dates are as informative as the prices. Price Rite's window runs October 30 to November 26, covering the full shopping period before the holiday. Winn-Dixie splits its offer: the cook-at-home meal runs November 11 to 25 in Florida and Georgia stores, while the heat-and-serve meal runs November 4 to December 29, reaching past the holiday into the December entertaining season. BJ's threshold promotion runs October 31 to November 9, with coupons available November 14 and claims due by November 25. Three calendars, three different assumptions about when households decide.
Coupon mechanics at the club channel
BJ's design deserves a closer look because the timing is not intuitive. The qualifying spend window closes on November 9, but coupons are not available until November 14 and must be redeemed by November 25. That gap forces members to commit the qualifying purchase before they can see the coupon, which front-loads the trip and removes the possibility of shopping the promotion against a competitor's later offer. It also concentrates redemption into an eleven-day window, which is easier to staff and to forecast than a month-long giveaway.
The club also has 268 clubs in 22 states and closes chainwide on Thanksgiving Day, reopening November 27. Closing on the holiday is a labour decision with a pricing side effect: it removes the last-minute same-day option and pushes urgency into the preceding days. Retailers that stay open on the holiday capture that late demand, but they do so at premium labour cost. The calendar, in other words, is doing as much work as the price.
How price monitoring should read these offers
A price monitoring routine built on unit prices will misread all three programmes. The correct unit of analysis is the basket: a defined list of components, a defined serving count, and a defined validity window. Once those three are fixed, offers become comparable and the price gap between them can be measured rather than argued about. The same discipline applies to product listings online, where a headline price often excludes the components a shopper actually needs.
| Retailer | Offer structure | Price and window | Cost per person |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price Rite Marketplace | Two published shopping lists, meal for ten | $39 or less, Oct 30 to Nov 26 | Under $3.90 |
| Winn-Dixie | Fixed cook-at-home basket, serves six | $38.90, Nov 11 to Nov 25 | About $6.48 |
| Winn-Dixie | Heat-and-serve deli meal, serves three to five | $39.99, Nov 4 to Dec 29 | $8.00 to $13.33 |
| BJ's Wholesale Club | Free turkey on qualifying spend | $150 spend, coupon up to $25, Oct 31 to Nov 9 | Depends on basket |
The table also shows why headline comparisons fail. The cheapest per-person offer is the one with the largest household, and the most expensive per-person offer is the one with the smallest. A monitoring dashboard that ranks offers by total price would place the $38.90 basket first and the $39 offer second, inverting the real order on a per-person basis. Restating to a common denominator is not a refinement; it is the difference between a correct and an incorrect read.
The evidence boundary should be explicit. All figures come from a single trade-press report of retailer announcements, and cost per person is calculated here by dividing the stated price by the stated serving count. The report does not confirm that every listed item will be available for the full window, does not give item-level prices, and does not disclose whether the offers are funded by retailers or suppliers. Conclusions about margin impact are therefore inferences, not reported facts.
FAQ
Which of the three offers is actually the cheapest?
On a per-person basis, Price Rite's meal for ten at under $3.90 per person is the lowest, followed by Winn-Dixie's $38.90 basket at about $6.48 per person for six, then the heat-and-serve meal at $8 to $13.33 per person. BJ's free turkey cannot be ranked without knowing the qualifying basket, so it should be excluded from a like-for-like comparison.
Why does a spend threshold count as a price promotion at all?
Because it lowers the effective cost of the basket rather than the unit price of one item. A member spending $150 receives a turkey worth up to $25, which is a discount on the total. It is cheaper for the retailer to run than a price cut because the reward is funded by margin on the qualifying basket.
What should a price monitoring team capture for offers like these?
Four fields: the component list, the serving count, the listed total and the validity window. Without all four, offers cannot be compared. Unit prices alone will misread bundle offers, and totals alone will misrank them once household size differs.
Does the promotion calendar matter as much as the price?
Often more. Price Rite covers October 30 to November 26, Winn-Dixie splits into two windows, and BJ's closes qualifying spend on November 9 before coupons appear on November 14. The calendar determines which trips a retailer can win, and it shapes how competitors can respond.










